Question 10: To whom should we pass and share the Lord’s Supper?

10.) To whom should we pass and share the Lord’s Supper, and what is the significance of this passing and sharing?

a.) Would you pass it to an unbeliever?

b.) Would you pass it to a person you did not consider in your fellowship?

Who will deny that the Lord’s Supper is for believers? Who will deny that the Lord’s Supper is to be shared among those in the fellowship of God’s dear Son? As a demonstration of belief and fellowship our Lord instituted a supper at which those who are in him eat and drink together in proclamation of his death.

The Greek word generally translated “fellowship” is used to describe the Lord’s Supper. “The cup of blessing which we bless, is it not the communion (koinonia) of the blood of Christ? The bread which we break, is it not the communion (koinonia) of the body of Christ? For we, being, many are on bread and one body; for we all partake of that one bread.” (1 Cor. 10:16:17).

Partaking of the Lord’s Supper is indicative of belief in Jesus Christ and being in fellowship with God and fellow believers. When you pass the elements of the Lord’s Supper to another person it is a tacit acknowledgment that the person is a child of God. J.B. Phillips translates 1 Corinthians 10:16b, “The very fact that we all share in one Bread makes us all one Body.” When you pass the bread and cup to another person to share with you, you are indicating that you recognize him as a child of God and in your fellowship. Otherwise the sharing is just a mere legalistic ritual which I am sorry to say it has become in many assemblies of the Churches of Christ. Thus I do not think we should knowingly pass it to unbelievers or those we do not consider in the fellowship of God’s dear Son. Yet in almost every segment of the Churches of Christ the practice of extending fellowship to unbelievers and those not considered in the fellowship by passing them the bread and cup is common. I admit I stand with those guilty.

Interestingly, over the years I have assembled with brethren who have blackballed me, yet when they partook of the Lord’s Supper they passed the bread and cup to me. They allowed me to participate in the highest expression of fellowship in the church of Christ. Indiscriminately they “fellowshipped” me yet I couldn’t lead a song or prayer or teach them anything because that would be “fellowshipping” me. Oh yes, they did take the dollar I put in the collection basket when it was passed to me.

3 responses to “Question 10: To whom should we pass and share the Lord’s Supper?

  1. I have always held the position that partaking of the communion is an individual practice, that we do together. To understand this, I think we have to look at the purpose of the communion. The purpose is to remember what Christ has done for us. It does not defile the purpose, the bread, the cup (or fruit of the vine therein), Christ, or my fellowship with Christ whether or not you take the communion.

    We have falsely used 1 Corinthians 11 over the years to prohibit people from taking the Lord’s supper. What is Paul saying? Is he saying that if you are a sinner then you shouldn’t partake, or is he saying that if you are not thinking of Christ then you shouldn’t partake. I think the latter.

    The position that I personally hold is this: 1) I will partake of the communion every Lord’s day and remember what Jesus suffered on my behalf. 2)If someone that is not a believer partakes of the communion it does not “hurt” or hinder my relationship with Christ in any way. 3)If someone that is not a believer partakes of the communion it does not “hurt” or hinder their potential of becoming a child of God. 4)If someone that is not a believer partakes of the communion it does not help them in anyway.

    If someone is not a believer, then to them it is not the Body and Blood of Christ, nor is it a covenant between them and Christ. It is simply bread and juice. It is the same with baptism, if someone does not believe, but is immersed, they are simply wet, the water has no significance to them.

    As far as people that are out of fellowship … that is a discussion in and of itself as the Bible gives EXACT reasons to disfellowship someone, and when that takes place the person will probably not show up anyway…that is assuming the person was disfellowshiped correctly…if we can call it that.

  2. On this I must agree with Bro’ Karr. He makes some sensible, valid points. Jesus said “Do this to remember me…” Who am I to tell anyone they can’t do what Jesus said to do? You see, my judgment about who is saved and who is not might be wrong. (I don’t “see” faith the way Jesus does)

    It might very well be that since there is no better telling of the gospel story than remembering the body and blood of Jesus and that we are to do “until He comes”, if a person partakes who is not yet a believer this gospel act could just touch his heart and move him to faith in Christ.

    I have two young grandsons who have not yet made a confession of faith and submitted to believers baptism. Yet, when I hear them pray they thank God that Jesus died on the cross for their sins and they will tell you they love Jesus and God and try to please him. They are denied the bread and cup. When they were only 4 years old one asked me “Are you all pretending the juice is the blood?” My reply was “Yes we are”.

    Would I be wrong to let those very bright little boys take some bread and drink the juice as we remember the Lord together? I don’t think so.

    (I like your blog roll!)

    Royce

  3. On your blogroll Leroy Garrett is linked to Al Maxey

Leave a Reply

